CB 10 Executive Board Signs Up For Another Term

By Helen Klein

The executive board of Community Board 10 was sworn in for a new term during the board’s January meeting. Administering the oath to Chairperson Craig Eaton, Vice Chairperson Dean Rasinya, Secretary Eleanor Petty and Treasurer Eleanor Schiano was New York State Supreme Court Justice Arthur Schack, himself a former chairperson of the board. Present for the ceremony were three other former board chairs: Stephen Harrison, who is still a board member; Basil Capetanakis, the president of the Fifth Avenue Board of Trade; and Kirk Tzanides. “I am honored and humbled to be chosen to serve as your chairperson for this coming year, which will be my third and final year as chairperson,” Eaton told his fellow board members. “I sincerely thank you for this honor that you have bestowed on me. I am also honored to be sworn in by my good friend, Judge Arthur Schack, and to have this ceremony at St. Anselm’s School where I served for three years as president of its youth activities program.” Eaton recalled that when he was first elected to the position of board chair, an extremely time-consuming position, “I told my wife that it was for one year, and it worked. What I didn’t tell her was that I could run for two additional terms. Last week, when I invited her to this evening’s swearing in, I quickly premised my comment with, ‘This is my last year due to terms limits.” The executive board will serve for the calendar year 2006, with elections for new officers to be held in December.

More from Around New York