Fifteen incumbent Queens lawmakers have no opponents on Election Day

Screen Shot 2018-10-30 at 2.27.42 PM
Screenshot of sample ballot, via NYC Board of Elections Poll Site Locator

As long as they bother to vote for themselves, 15 Queens elected officials have no reason to worry about being re-elected on Election Day — because they have no opposition.

The unchallenged lawmakers — all of whom are Democrats — includes a member of Congress, three state senators and 11 Assembly members. With such a high number, there’s a good chance that one of the uncontested races will be on your ballot when you vote in Queens on Nov. 6 — although the majority of the opponent-less incumbents are located in southeast Queens.

Even so, voters in the uncontested races could always write in a candidate of their choice. Space for write-in candidates are located on the right of the paper ballot; you must neatly write the name and fill in the circle within the box in order for the write-in vote to be counted.

The unchallenged incumbents — some of whom are also running on third-party lines — are as follows:

  • Congressman Gregory Meeks of the Fifth Congressional District, which covers almost all of southeast Queens.
  • State Senator James Sanders of the 10th Senatorial District, which includes South Jamaica, Rochdale Village, Rosedale, Richmond Hill, South Ozone Park, Springfield Gardens and most of the Rockaways.
  • State Senator Michael Gianaris of the 12th Senatorial District, which covers all or parts of Astoria, Long Island City, Sunnyside, Woodside, Glendale, Woodhaven and Ridgewood.
  • State Senator Leroy Comrie of the 14th Senatorial District, which includes portions of Jamaica, Cambria Heights, Queens Village, Hollis, St. Albans, Laurelton, Jamaica Estates, Briarwood, Hillcrest and Kew Gardens.
  • Assemblyman David Weprin of the 24th Assembly District, which includes areas of Richmond Hill, Jamaica, Jamaica Estates, Briarwood, Hollis Hills, Oakland Gardens, Bellerose and Glen Oaks.
  • Assemblywoman Nily Rozic of the 25th Assembly District, which covers all or parts of Flushing, Fresh Meadows, Kew Gardens Hills, Pomonok, Auburndale, Bayside, Oakland Gardens and Douglaston.
  • Assemblyman Daniel Rosenthal of the 27th Assembly District, which includes parts of College Point, Whitestone, Flushing, Forest Hills, Rego Park, Kew Gardens, Kew Gardens Hills, Pomonok and Briarwood.
  • Assemblywoman Alicia Hyndman of the 29th Assembly District, which includes much of Jamaica, Jamaica Hills, St. Albans, Cambria Heights, Laurelton and Rosedale.
  • Assemblywoman Michele Titus of the 31st Assembly District, which covers all or parts of Ozone Park, South Ozone Park, Springfield Gardens, Rosedale, and the eastern Rockaways.
  • Assemblywoman Vivian Cook of the 32nd Assembly District, which includes parts of Jamaica, Richmond Hill, Rochdale and Rochdale Village.
  • Assemblyman Michael DenDekker of the 34th Assembly District, which covers parts of Corona, Elmhurst, Jackson Heights and Woodside.
  • Assemblyman Jeffrion Aubry of the 35th Assembly District, which includes parts of Corona, East Elmhurst, Elmhurst and Jackson Heights.
  • Assemblywoman Aravella Simotas of the 36th Assembly District, which covers parts of Astoria and Long Island City.
  • Assemblywoman Catherine Nolan of the 37th Assembly District, which includes areas of Astoria, Long Island City, Maspeth, Middle Village and Ridgewood.
  • Assemblyman Mike Miller of the 38th Assembly District, which includes all or parts of Ridgewood, Glendale, Woodhaven and Ozone Park.