Nurses from Episcopal Health Services honored at 1199SEIU Nurse of Distinction awards

(Left) St. John’s Episcopal Hospital’s James Moriah, RN, MSN, CMSRN, CNEcl was named second runner-up in the Nurse of Distinction Hospital category at the 1199SEIU (United Healthcare Workers East) Nurse of Distinction Awards. (Right) St. John’s Episcopal Hospital’s Dr. Gloria Otoo PhD, MS-NEd, RNC-OB, C-EFM, Jonas won the Nurse of Distinction Advance Practice category at the 1199SEIU (United Healthcare Workers East) Nurse of Distinction Awards.
Photos courtesy of Episcopal Health Services

Episcopal Health Services, located on the Rockaway Peninsula in Queens, shone brightly at the 1199SEIU (United Healthcare Workers East) Nurse of Distinction Awards on May 10.

Dr. Gloria Otoo and Jonas Moriah from St. John’s Episcopal Hospital were honored with top awards, highlighting their exceptional contributions to healthcare.

Dr. Otoo, a pivotal member of the maternal and child health team at St. John’s, won in the Nurse of Distinction Advance Practice category, recognizing her exceptional skills and dedication in advanced practice nursing across New York State’s 1199 affiliated hospitals.

“I feel proud to be a part of the St. John’s Episcopal Hospital family, specifically the maternal and child team, and I am glad I represented this great institution in the Advanced Practice registered nurse category, winning in New York State among all 1199 affiliated hospitals,” Dr. Otoo stated. “I dedicate this award to St. John’s Episcopal Hospital, and I am overwhelmingly appreciative of the nomination and recognition.”

Jonas Moriah, who earned the second runner-up position in the Nurse of Distinction Hospital category, expressed his gratitude for the acknowledgment of his efforts toward safe and patient-centered healthcare delivery.

“Receiving this award is not just a validation of my hard work but a testament to the collective effort and support I’ve received,” Moriah said. “I am deeply grateful for the guidance and teamwork of my colleagues, especially retired nurse Priscilla Yates, whose dedication has been instrumental in my success.”

The awards event also highlighted the nominations of Lavish Arjoosingh and Zakiya Favard from EHS, in the Nurse of Distinction Preceptor and Nurse of Distinction Novice categories respectively.

“We were so proud to have four registered nurses from Episcopal Health Services nominated by their peers to receive Nurse of Distinction recognition. This is a true testament to their commitment and dedication to providing high-quality care to our patients,” said Keisha-Ann Wisdom, Episcopal Health Services Senior Vice President of Patient Services and Chief Nursing Officer. “Being peer-nominated makes these awards even more significant, as it reflects the respect and admiration of their colleagues.”

Episcopal Health Services Inc. continues to be a cornerstone of healthcare in the Rockaway Peninsula. It offers a range of services to a diverse and underserved community and ensures comprehensive care regardless of patients’ financial circumstances.