Assembly final tally: Queens Democrats prevail – QNS.com

Assembly final tally: Queens Democrats prevail

By Peter Sorkin

In Assembly District 24, which covers northeastern Queens, Mark Weprin (D-Bayside) will serve his third term after defeating Republican Philip Sica with 26,191 votes, or 72 percent of the vote. Sica received 10,320 votes, or 28 percent of the vote.

In District 28, Michael Cohen (D-Forest Hills), beat GOP challenger Michael Roemmelt after Cohen also attracted 72 percent of the vote with 22,563 votes. Roemmelt got 8,708 votes. Cohen will now serve his second term in the Assembly, serving parts of Jackson Heights, Elmhurst, Rego Park and Middle Village.

Incumbent William Scarborough (D-St. Albans), whose District 29 covers southeastern Queens, retained his seat after beating Independence Party candidate William Smith handily with 98 percent of the vote: 26,109 people voted for Scarborough and 401 voters supported Smith.

Another incumbent, Pauline Rhodd-Cummings (D-Far Rockaway) of the 31st Assembly District seat covering southeastern Queens, defeated Independence Party candidate Michael Duvalle, with 96 percent of the vote. Rhodd-Cummings received 19,431 to Duvalle's 778, according to the unofficial results.

District 33 Democratic leader and Assemblywoman Barbara Clark (D-Queens Village), who has been in the Assembly since 1987, defeated Robert Hutchinson, who ran on the Republican and Independence Party lines, with 28,940 total votes. Hutchinson received a total of 3,508. Clark, whose district covers Queens Village, won with 89 percent of the vote.

Democrat Ivan Lafayette, whose district includes Corona, Jackson Heights and Elmhurst, defeated Republican and Conservative candidate Rafael Merino with 85 percent of the vote. Lafayette will serve the 34th Assembly District for his 22nd term after capturing 14,394 votes. Merino received 2,532 votes.

In District 36, Democrat Michael Gianaris received 69 percent of the vote, beating Republican, Conservative and Right To Life candidate Vince Tabone and Independent Party candidate Molly Honigsfeld. The seat was vacated when Denis Butler announced his retirement after serving for 24 years. Gianaris walked away with 17,362, Tabone received 6,925 votes, or 28 percent, and Honigsfeld received 736 votes, or 3 percent.

Gianaris will be the first Greek-American to serve in the New York State Assembly, with constituents in Long Island City and Astoria.

In District 37 Cathy Nolan (D-Ridgewood), defeated Republican, Conservative and Right-to-Life Party candidate challenger Alice Lemos. Nolan prevailed over Lemos with 84 percent of the vote. Her margin of victory was 16,293 to 3,185 for Lemos. Nolan, who has been in the Assembly since 1985, will continue to represent Ridgewood, Woodside, Sunnyside and parts of Long Island City and Astoria.

Incumbent Anthony Seminario (D-Richmond Hill), whose District 38 covers Richmond Hill, Ozone Park and Woodhaven, defeated Republican Party candidate William Johnert for his sixth consecutive term in the Assembly with 76 percent of the vote. He received 17,737 of the votes to Johnert's 5,672.

Of the 15 races for Assembly seats in Queens communities covered by the Times-Ledger, five candidates ran unopposed and will serve another two years, including Brian McLaughlin (D-Flushing) from the 25th District, Ann-Margaret Carrozza (D-Bayside) from the 26th District Nettie Mayersohn (D-Fresh Meadows) from the 27th District.

Margaret Markey (D-Elmhurst) from District 30, serving parts of western Queens, will return to Albany, as will Vivian Cook (D-South Ozone Park) from the 32nd District serving southeastern Queens.

More from Around New York