Capitol Turns Red, but N.y. Still Blue

Local Incumbents Retain Power

Even as Republicans took full control of Capitol Hill in the national midterm races, local Democrats dominated Election Day contests again on Tuesday, Nov. 4.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo rallied with health care workers at Wyckoff Heights Medical Center in Brooklyn last Saturday, Nov. 1, en route to re-election on Tuesday.

State Sen. Joseph Addabbo, in the most competitive state legislative race in the Times Newsweekly coverage area, turned back the challenge of Republican upstart Michael Conigliaro. Former City Council Member Erik Martin Dilan also won the vacant 54th Assembly District, which covers parts of Bushwick and Cypress Hills.

Meanwhile, Gov. Andrew Cuomo and Lt. Gov.-nominee Kathy Hochul, State Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli and Attorney General Eric Schneiderman easily defeated their Republican rivals to win another four years in power. Republicans reclaimed full control of the State Senate (they had been sharing power with the Independent Democratic Conference), while Democrats maintained their Assembly majority.

The entire Queens Congressional delegation-the majority of whom faced token opposition-also won re-election in similar fashion.

Additionally, voters statewide approved ballot referendums on forming a state redistricting commission following the 2020 Census; allowing bills to be sent electronically to legislators; and releasing up to $2 billion in bonds for school improvements.

As with the most recent elections, turnout was again light. Followers of the Times Newsweekly’s Facebook page reported few problems with ballot devices-but also few voters-at their local polling sites.

“People need to realize that voting is a privilege that others have died for,” Glendale resident Dawn Scala stated in a post to the paper’s Facebook page.

Here’s the results of Tuesday’s local races, with nearly all precincts reporting:


– Fifth District (includes areas of Richmond Hill, Ozone Park, South Ozone Park, Jamaica and neighborhoods in southeastern Queens and the Rockaways): Voters returned Rep. Gregory Meeks to Capitol Hill in convincing fashion, as he secured 95.2 percent of the vote (72,454) over a third-party candidate, Allen Steinhardt, who received 4.8 percent (3,618).

– Sixth District (parts of Ridgewood, Glendale, Maspeth, Middle Village, Elmhurst, Rego Park, Forest Hills and areas in eastern and northern Queens): Rep. Grace Meng was re-elected unopposed.

– Seventh District (Woodhaven and parts of Glendale, Ridgewood, Cypress Hills, Bushwick and other neighborhoods in northern Brooklyn and lower Manhattan): Rep. Nydia Velázquez overwhelmed two challengers- Republican Jose Luis Fernandez and Conservative Allan Romaguera-garnering 89 percent of the vote (53,283). Fernandez took 8.9 percent (5,299), while Romaguera gathered 2.2 percent (1,289).

– Eighth District (areas of Ozone Park and Howard Beach, Cypress Hills and other communities in central Brooklyn): Freshman Rep. Hakeem Jeffries easily gained his second term in office, getting 91.9 percent of the vote (71,280) over Conservative challenger Alan Bellone (8.1 percent, 6,286).

– 12th District (parts of Astoria, Long Island City, Sunnyside, Woodside and areas of Manhattan): Rep. Carolyn Maloney dominated her race over Republican challenger Nick DiIorio, securing 79.9 percent of the vote (83,870). DiIorio took home 20.1 percent (21,160).

– 14th District (parts of Astoria, Sunnyside, Woodside, Jackson Heights, Elmhurst, Maspeth, Middle Village and areas of the Bronx): Rep. Joe Crowley cruised to victory, gaining 88.2 percent of the vote (47,370) over Conservative challenger Elizabeth Perri, who received 11.8 percent (6,318).

State legislature

– 15th State Senate District (parts of Ridgewood, Glendale, Maspeth, Middle Village, Woodhaven, Woodside, Forest Hills, Rego Park, Ozone Park, Richmond Hill, South Ozone Park, Howard Beach, Broad Channel and the western Rockaways): Addabbo won his fourth term in office, receiving 55.1 percent of the vote (19,770) over challenger Conigliaro, who secured 44.9 percent (16,138).

– 12th State Senate District (parts of Astoria, Long Island City, Sunnyside, Woodside and Jackson Heights): State Sen. Michael Gianaris easily won a third term in Albany, taking 95.8 percent (24,886) of the vote over third-party candidate Anthony Aldorasi (4.2 percent, 1,093).

– 18th State Senate District (parts of Bushwick, Cypress Hills, Greenpoint East Williamsburg and Williamsburg): State Sen. Martin Malavé Dilan defeated two third-party challengers to secure another term in office. Dilan took 81.2 percent of the vote (19,607) over Working Families nominee Debbie Medina (15.4 percent, 3,722) and Conservative candidate Jonathan Anderson (3.3 percent, 807).

– 54th Assembly District (parts of Bushwick, Cypress Hills, East New York and Bedford-Stuyvesant): Former Council Member Dilan won the right to succeed current City Council Member Rafael Espinal in his former assembly seat. Dilan garnered 85.7 percent of the vote (6,631) over Working Families nominee Kimberly Council (9.9 percent, 765) and Republican candidate Khorshed Chowdhury (4.4 percent, 344).

– 37th Assembly District (parts of Ridgewood, Middle Village, Maspeth, Sunnyside, Woodside and Long Island City): Assemblywoman Catherine Nolan cruised to another term in office, securing 92.9 percent of the vote (9,720) over Libertarian candidate John Kevin Wilson (7.1 percent, 748).

The following state legislative candidates won new terms in office unopposed on Tuesday: Assemblymembers Phil Goldfeder (District 23), David Weprin (District 24), Michael Simanowitz (District 27), Andrew Hevesi (District 28), Margaret Markey (District 30), Michael DenDekker (District 34), Jeffrion Aubry (District 35), Mike Miller (District 38), Francisco Moya (District 39) and Maritza Davila (District 53); State Senators James Sanders (District 10), Jose Peralta (District 13) and Toby Ann Stavisky (District 16); and Deputy Borough President Leroy Comrie, who won the 14th State Senate District seat.

More from Around New York