Queens Botanical Garden elects two to board of trustees

By Madina Toure

The Queens Botanical Garden’s board of trustees has named two new members to its board, with outgoing members Saul Kupferberg and Walter Sanchez leaving after each finishing six years terms.Kupferberg and Sanchez will remain as advisory council members.

One of the new board members is Nadine Cino, CEO and co-inventor of TygaBox Systems, a company that rents reusable plastic moving boxes as an ecological alternative to corrugated boxes.

The other new member, Edith Meyer, currently works for Art Asia Pacific, a global fine arts magazine and website. She has worked in research, sales and marketing for more than 20 years at Condé Nast, Universal McCann and The Economist. She is the great-granddaughter of QBG’s first president, Charles G. Meyer, Sr. Her father, George Meyer, and brother, Willets Meyer, have both served on the QBG board.

Rovena Schirling, the board’s chairwoman, commended Kupferberg and Sanchez for their service, but also said she was thrilled to work with the two new members.

“They are the epitome of the caliber of board members we have been fortunate to have join us—bright, passionate and driven.” Schirling said. “We enter the new year with a sense of joy and promise for great things to come.”

QBG’s executive director, Susan Lacerte, echoed similar sentiments, saying that their business and marketing savvy will prove beneficial for the board’s work and success.

She also credited Kupferberg and Sanchez with helping the board better tap into the needs of the community.

“They conducted countless interviews to understand the heart of our community,” Lacerte said. “Without them, we could not have formulated and adopted a new strategic plan—Kids, Culture, Community! I’m thankful they are staying in the QBG as part of our Advisory Council.”

The board meets five times a year and members serve terms of three years. The board oversees QBG’s operations, property and finances.

Schirling was re-elected to a one-year term as the board’s chairwoman and Neil Fleischman has taken on the role of treasurer for a one-year term.

Vice Chairwoman Suzanne Brienza and Secretary Michael Bronstein will remain in their roles. Pauline Huang was appointed to the Executive Committee and will serve as chairwoman of the Nominating Sub-Committee.

Reach reporter Madina Toure by e-mail at mtour[email protected]local.com or by phone at (718) 260–4566.

More from Around New York