Quantcast
Historian to lead tours of Queens neighborhoods – QNS.com

Historian to lead tours of Queens neighborhoods

Jack Eichenbaum will lead a series of tours throughout Queens this summer.

Walking the streets of Queens’s multicultural neighborhoods can be a treat in its own right, but under the guidance of resident Queens historian Jack Eichenbaum, it becomes a chance to learn about the events that shaped the borough and its people.

Beginning May 29 and running through July, Eichenbaum is hosting a series of tours based on the borough’s changing cultures, as he did last year. This year he is also adding a series of tours based on interborough bus routes.

A serious contender to be appointed Queens historian next month, Eichenbaum knows the ins and outs of New York City and his tours are a chance to pick his brain on the neighborhoods that make the borough so unique.

Below are his scheduled tours with the corresponding prices, dates and times:

• Saturday, May 29: Q44 bus route from Parkchester to Jamaica Center, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., $30

• Tuesday, June 1: Flushing’s Koreatown, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m., $15/$10 under 30 with ID

• Tuesday, June 8: Long Island City to Old Astoria, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m., $15/$10 under 30 with ID

• Saturday, June 12: North Corona loop including Armstrong house back to Corona Plaza, 11 a.m. to 12 p.m., free

• Saturday, June 12: South Corona (“Corona Heights”) walk ending at “Spaghetti Park,” 12:15 p.m. to 1:15 p.m., free

• Tuesday, June 15: Forest Hills to Corona, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m., $15/$10 under 30 with ID

• Saturday, June 19: Historical Jamaica, 1 p.m. to 3 p.m., free

• Sunday, June 20: M60 bus route from Central Harlem to East Elmhurst, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., $30

• Tuesday, June 22: Sunnyside to Jackson Heights, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m., $15/$10 under 30 with ID

• Tuesday, June 29: South Richmond Hill, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m., $15/$10 under 30 with ID

• Tuesday, July 6: Flushing’s Chinatown, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m., $15/$10 under 30 with ID

• Saturday, July 10: Historical Jamaica, 1 p.m. to 3 p.m., free

• Tuesday, July 13: Woodside Avenue, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m., $15/$10 under 30 with ID

• Tuesday, July 20: Astoria, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m., $15/$10 under 30 with ID

• Tuesday, July 27: Jackson Heights to Sunnyside, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m., $15/$10 under 30 with ID

• Saturday, July 31: B61 bus route from Long Island City to Red Hook, Brooklyn, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., $30

For more information, visit geognyc.com or call 718-961-8406.

— Connor Adams Sheets

More from Around New York