Senator Schumer and Queens Democrats enjoy a big night in local legislative contests

Senator Charles Schumer got tremendous support from Queens voters and others across the Empire State in seeking his fourth term on Election Night.

The incumbent, who is favored to succeed Nevada Senator Harry Reid as the Democrats’ leader in the Senate, took more than 70 percent of the vote against his rival, Republican Wendy Long, and two third-party candidates.


Incumbent Democratic lawmakers in Queens also enjoyed a big Election Day in a host of local and federal legislative races. In addition to races we’ve already profiled on QNS, here are the results of local contests in The Courier area, with nearly all precincts reporting:


Fifth District: Congressman Gregory Meeks (167,304, 86.3 percent) bested Republican rival Michael O’Reilly (23,760, 12.3 percent) for the right to continue representing the Fifth District in Congress. The district covers much of southeast Queens and the Rockaway Peninsula.

Sixth District: Congresswoman Grace Meng (126,018, 71.9 percent) handily defeated Republican challenger Danniel Maio (47,278, 27 percent) in her pursuit of a third term on Capitol Hill. The Sixth District stretches across much of central and northeastern Queens, from Ridgewood to Bayside.

Seventh District: Congresswoman Nydia Velazquez (158,972, 90.7 percent) easily triumphed over her Republican challenger, Allan E. Romaguera (16,255, 9.3 percent), for the right to represent the Seventh District covering Woodhaven and southern areas of Ridgewood and Glendale, and extending into Lower Manhattan and Brooklyn.

Eighth District: Congressman Hakeem Jeffries  (194,823, 93.3 percent) coasted to another term in Congress in defeating Conservative Party nominee Daniel J. Cavanagh (13,958, 6.7 percent). Ozone Park and Howard Beach are included in the Eighth District, which extends into central Brooklyn.

12th District: Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney (214,769, 83 percent) also enjoyed an easy re-election contest, defeating Republican rival Robert Ardini (43,941, 17 percent). The 12th District covers northwest Queens and Midtown Manhattan.

14th District: Congressman Joe Crowley (134,603, 82.6 percent) easily triumphed over his Republican challenger, Frank Spotorno (28,332, 17.4 percent), for the right to represent the 14th District covering northwest Queens and the Bronx.


10th District: It was deja vu all over again for state Senator James Sanders (78,457, 96.5 percent), who defeated Working Families Party nominee Adrienne Adams (2,820, 3.5 percent) for another term in Albany. Sanders had defeated Adams in the September Democratic primary. The 10th District includes much of southeast Queens and the eastern Rockaways.

12th District: State Senator Michael Gianaris (76,330, 86 percent) was another easy winner on Election Day, as the Democratic incumbent trounced Republican challenger Marvin Jeffcoat (12,457, 14 percent). The 12th District includes much of northwest Queens.

13th District: State Senator Jose Peralta (55,719, 86.7 percent) enjoyed a big win over Republican nominee Jesus Gonzalez (8,553, 13.3 percent) for the right to represent the 13th District, which also covers northwest Queens.

14th District: State Senator Leroy Comrie (87,192, 92.5 percent) will be going back to Albany as he turned aside the challenge of Republican nominee Jarret N. Freeman  (7,044, 7.5 percent). The district includes much of Jamaica, St. Albans, Cambria Heights and Laurelton.

16th District: State Senator Toby Ann Stavisky (48,885, 77.8 percent) handily defeated Republican rival Carlos Giron (13,944, 22.2 percent) to secure another term in the state Senate. The 16th District is gerrymandered across central Queens, stretching from Woodside to Bayside.


23rd District: Democrat Stacey Pheffer-Amato (24,725, 67.4 percent) will be representing the 23rd District in Albany next year as she defeated Republican Alan Zwirn (11,975, 32.6 percent) for the right to succeed the outgoing Assemblyman Phil Goldfeder. The 23rd District covers Ozone Park, Howard Beach, Broad Channel and most of the Rockaways.

24th District: Assemblyman David Weprin (26,441, 82.5 percent) soundly defeated Republican challenger Ira Harris (5,619, 17.5 percent). The 24th District covers central and southern Queens.

25th District: Assemblywoman Nily Rozic (20,881, 76.1 percent) cruised to re-election over Republican rival Usman Ali Chohan (6,541, 23.9 percent) for the right to represent the 25th District covering northeast Queens.

33rd District: Democrat Clyde Vanel (35,122, 89.3 percent) officially won his first term in the Assembly, defeating Republican Goldy-Francois Wellington (3,481, 8.8 percent) for the right to succeed the late Assemblywoman Barbara Clark. The 33rd District covers much of St. Albans, Laurelton, Cambria Heights and Queens Village.

38th District: Assemblyman Mike Miller cruised to victory (21,744, 80.4 percent) in his bid for a third full term in office, as he turned back the challenge of Republican Joseph Maldonado (5,298, 19.6 percent). The district covers parts of Ridgewood, Glendale and Woodhaven.

40th District: Another northeast Queens representative, Assemblyman Ron Kim (15,325, 75.2 percent), was another winner on Election Day, as he turned back the challenge of Republican Miriam Gonzalez (5,065, 24.8 percent).


A number of Queens lawmakers had a rather worry-free Election Night, as they were re-elected to their seats without any challengers. They include the following:

• Assemblyman Ed Braunstein of the 26th District (areas of Bayside, Bellerose, Douglaston, Flushing, Glen Oaks, Little Neck and Whitestone);

• Assemblyman Michael Simanowitz of the 27th Assembly District (areas of Briarwood, College Point, Flushing, Forest Hills, Fresh Meadows, Jamaica, Kew Gardens, Kew Gardens Hills, Rego Park, Richmond Hill and Whitestone);

• Assemblyman Andrew Hevesi of the 28th District (areas of Forest Hills, Glendale, Kew Gardens, Maspeth, Middle Village, Rego Park, Richmond Hill and Ridgewood);

• Assemblywoman Alicia Hyndman of the 29th District (areas of Cambria Heights, Jamaica, Jamaica Estates, Laurelton, Rosedale and St. Albans);

• Assemblywoman Michele Titus of the 31st District (areas of John F. Kennedy Airport, Rosedale, the eastern Rockaways, South Jamaica, South Ozone Park and Springfield Gardens); and

• Assemblywoman Vivian Cook of the 32nd District (areas of Jamaica, Richmond Hill, Rochdale, South Jamaica and South Ozone Park).

• Assemblyman Michael DenDekker of the 34th District (areas of Corona, East Elmhurst, Jackson Heights and Woodside);

• Assemblyman Jeffrion Aubry of the 35th District (areas of Corona, East Elmhurst, Elmhurst, Flushing, LaGuardia Airport and Rego Park);

• Assemblywoman Aravella Simotas of the 36th District (areas of Astoria, East Elmhurst and Long Island City);

• Assemblywoman Catherine Nolan of the 37th District (areas of Astoria, Long Island City, Maspeth, Middle Village, Ridgewood, Sunnyside and Woodside); and

• Assemblyman Francisco Moya of the 39th District (areas of Corona, Elmhurst, Jackson Heights and Woodside).

Each Assembly candidate serves two-year terms; they will be on the ballot again in 2018.


More from Around New York