What you need to know about the upcoming primary election in Queens

A voter fills out their ballot behind a privacy booth at the P.S. 31Q polling site in Bayside on Tuesday, Nov. 2, 2021.

On June 28, registered voters all across Queens will have the chance to make their voices heard by casting their ballots in the Democratic primaries for several upcoming races, including governor, state assembly and judge of the civil circuit.

The Democratic primaries for congressional and state Senate races were originally going to take place on June 28, but the New York State of Appeals struck down the original map that was written and approved by the Democratic-controlled state Legislature earlier that year. A neutral expert and state judge were then brought in to draw a new map, leading the congressional primaries to be delayed to Aug. 23.

Here’s some information you need to know about individual races, early voting, absentee voting and more: 

Absentee ballots

Previously, under New York state law, registered voters could only make a request to receive an absentee ballot if they would not be present in their county of residence during the voting period, if they were sick and/or physically disabled in any way, or if they were caring for someone who is sick and/or has a disability. 

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, however, state lawmakers in the New York Legislature passed a law that continued to expand the eligibility to include the risk of spreading or catching any sort of severe infectious disease.

While every registered voter in the state of New York has since become eligible for absentee ballots, voters are no longer allowed to cast their votes in a voting machine if they request to vote by Absentee Ballot.

The last day that voters in New York could request an absentee ballot online was June 13.

Early voting

Early voting is scheduled to take place from June 18 to June 26. Below, see when polling sites are open for early voting

Saturday, June 18: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Sunday, June 19: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Monday, June 20: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Tuesday, June 21: 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Wednesday, June 22: 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Thursday, June 23: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Friday, June 24: 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Saturday, June 25: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Sunday, June 26: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

On Election Day, polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Early voting locations

Antun’s: 96-43 Springfield Blvd., Queens Village

Board of Elections – Queens Voting Machine Facility Annex: 66-26 Metropolitan Ave., Middle Village

Creedmoor Hospital: 79-25 Winchester Blvd., Queens Village

Dwarf Giraffe Athletic League: 149-50 15th Rd., Whitestone

First Baptist Church Of East Elmhurst: 100-10 Astoria Blvd., East Elmhurst

Frank Kowalinski Post #4: 61-57 Maspeth Ave., Maspeth

Helen Marshall Cultural Center at Queens Borough Hall: 120-55 Queens Blvd., Kew Gardens

Holy Trinity Parish Church: 222-05 116th Ave., Cambria Heights

Korean Community Services: 203-05 32nd Ave., Bayside

LaGuardia Community College: 31-10 Thomson Ave., Long Island City

Museum of the Moving Image: 36-01 35th Ave., Astoria

New York Hall of Science: 47-01 111th St., Corona

Our Lady of Grace Catholic Academy: 158-20 101st St., Howard Beach

Queens College, City University of New York: 65-30 Kissena Blvd., Flushing

Queens Public Library at Hunters Point: 47-40 Center Blvd., Long Island City

Queens Public Library at Jackson Heights: 35-51 81st St., Jackson Heights

Queens Public Library at Richmond Hill: 118-14 Hillside Ave., Richmond Hill

Queens Public Library at Steinway: 21-45 31st St., Astoria

Queensborough Community College: 222-05 56th Ave., Oakland Gardens

Queensborough Elks Lodge No. 878: 82-20 Queens Blvd., Elmhurst

Rego Center Community Room: 61-00 97th St., Rego Park

Resorts World Casino New York City: 110-00 Rockaway Blvd., South Ozone Park

Rochdale Village Community Center: 169-65 137th Ave., Jamaica

Rockaway Artists Alliance at Fort Tilden: Building T149 Fort Tilden, Gateway National Recreation Area, Breezy Point

Rockaway YMCA: 207 Beach 73rd St., Arverne

Roy Wilkins Recreation Center: 177-01 Baisley Blvd., Jamaica

Saint Sebastian RC Parish Center: 39-60 57th St., Woodside

Sorrentino Recreation Center: 18-48 Cornaga Ave., Far Rockaway

St John’s University, School of Law: 80-00 Utopia Pkwy., Jamaica

The Boys’ Club of New York – Abbe Clubhouse: 133-01 41st Rd., Flushing

The Shops at Atlas Park: 80-00 Cooper Ave., Ridgewood

Trinity Lutheran Church: 63-70 Dry Harbor Rd., Middle Village

Variety Boys & Girls Club of Queens: 21-12 30th Rd., Astoria

York College, Performing Arts Center: 94-45 Guy R. Brewer Blvd., Jamaica

Who’s on the ballot?

Governor: Kathy Hochul (D), Julianne Williams (D), Thomas Suozzi (D), Paul Nichols (D); Lee Zeldin (R), Rob Astorino (R), Derrick Gibson (R), Andrew Giuliani (R), Harry Wilson (R)

Lieutenant Governor: Antonio Delgado (D), Ana Maria Archila (D), David Englert (D), Diana Reyna (D); Alison Esposito (R)

State Assembly

23rd Assembly District: Stacey G. Pheffer Amato (D); Thomas Sullivan (R)

24th Assembly District: Albert Baldeo (D), Mizanur R. Choudhury (D), David I. Weprin (D)

25th Assembly District: Nily Rozic (D); Seth Breland (R)

26th Assembly District: Edward Braunstein (D); Robert Speranza (R)

27th Assembly District: Daniel Rosenthal (D); Angelo King (R)

28th Assembly District: Ethan M. Felder (D), Andrew D. Hevesi (D); Michael Conigliaro (R)

29th Assembly District: Alicia L. Hyndman (D), Everly D. Brown (D)

30th Assembly District: Steven B. Raga (D), Ramon P. Cando (D); Sean Lally (R)

31st Assembly District: Khaleel Anderson (D, running unopposed)

32nd Assembly District: Anthony D. Andrews Jr. (D), Vivian E. Cook (D); Marilyn Miller (R)

33rd Assembly District: Clyde Vanel ​​(D), Oster Bryan (D)

34th Assembly District: Jessica González-Rojas ​​(D, running unopposed)

35th Assembly District: Jeffrion L. Aubry (D), Hiram Monserrate (D)

36th Assembly District: Zohran Kwame Mamdani (D, running unopposed)

37th Assembly District: Juan Ardila (D), Brent O’Leary (D), Jim Magee (D), Johanna Carmona (D)

38th Assembly District: Jenifer Rajkumar (D, running unopposed)

39th Assembly District: Catalina Cruz (D, running unopposed)

40th Assembly District: Ron Kim (D), Kenneth Chiu (D); Sharon Liao (R)


Judge of the Civil Court: Karen Lin, Devian Daniels, Maria T. Gonzalez, Thomas Medardo Oliva

More from Around New York