Kim calls for driver’s license reciprocity with Taiwan

Kim calls for driver’s license reciprocity with Taiwan
Assemblyman Ron Kim (c.) joins lawmakers and Taiwanese leaders from across the state at the 2018 Taiwan Heritage Day Celebration.
Courtesy of Kim’s office
By Carlotta Mohamed

State Assemblyman Ron Kim (D-Flushing) introduced a resolution proclaiming June 13 as Taiwan Heritage Day in New York, and acknowledged the importance of instituting a reciprocating driver’s license program between Taiwan and New York state.

The celebration, held in the capitol’s Legislative Office Building — with hosts state Assemblywoman Yuh-Line Niou (D-Manhattan) and state Sen. Toby Stavisky (D-Flushing) — commemorated the diplomatic and cultural relationship between the New York state and Taiwan, and created an opportunity for the attendees to share and learn about Taiwan’s culture and traditions. The lawmakers were joined by the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office of New York, as well as key Taiwanese American leaders from across the state.

“We are pleased to join our colleagues in introducing this Assembly resolution commemorating Taiwan Heritage Day and celebrating the many years of friendship between the state of New York and Taiwan,” Kim said. “It is difficult to overstate the importance of our longstanding partnership, and we must continue to take the steps needed to support the bonds between our two communities.”

More than a dozen other states have signed an agreement with Taiwan for reciprocal driver’s licenses, Kim said.

According to the American Institute in Taiwan, an international driving license is required to drive in Taiwan, which the people can apply for in their home country. People from countries with reciprocal agreements with Taiwan can use their driving license for up to 30 days. Those who wish to stay longer than 30 days and continue to drive need to complete an International Driving License Permit Application for their individual country.

So far, 21 states have adopted reciprocal driver’s license agreements with Taiwan, including Virginia, Kentucky, Maryland, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, Washington, West Virginia, Oregon, Arizona, Alabama, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Nevada, Tennessee and Colorado, according to the American Institute in Taiwan.

Reach reporter Carlotta Mohamed by e-mail at cmoha[email protected]nglocal.com or by phone at (718) 260–4526.

More from Around New York