What Queens voters should know ahead of the Nov. 7 general election

Voters cast their ballots at the MS/IS 53 voting site in Far Rockaway during the 2022 General Election on Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022.
QNS file photo

While Election Day may not be until Tuesday, Nov. 7, the early voting period for those who may not be able to submit their ballots on Election Day will run from Oct. 28 until Nov. 5 in New York City. This will mark the second election cycle in the city since new congressional district maps were drawn.

Early voting

Below, see the schedule for early voting polling sites:

Saturday, Oct. 28: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 29: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 30: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 31: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Wednesday, Nov. 1: 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Thursday, Nov. 2: 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 3: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 4: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 5: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Find your current polling site by visiting findmypollsite.vote.nyc.

Who’s on the ballot?

District Attorney:

Melinda Katz (Democrat), Michael Mossa (Republican), George A. Grasso (Public Safety)

Justices of the Supreme Court – 11th Judicial District:

Cassandra A. Johnson (Democrat), Gary Muraca (Republican), Karen Lin (Democrat), Peter J. Kelly (Democrat), Scott Dunn (Democrat and Republican), Jessica Earle-Gargan (Democrat)

Judge of the Civil Court:

Sandra Perez (Democrat), Sharmela Bachu (Republican)

Council districts:

19th: Tony Avella (Democrat), Vickie Paladino (Republican)

20th: Sandra Ung (Democrat), Yu-Ching James Pai (Republican), Jin Liang Chen (Better Flushing)

21st: Francisco P. Moya (Democrat)

22nd: Tiffany L. Caban (Democrat), Kelly L. Klingman (Republican)

23rd: Linda Lee (Democrat), Bernard K. Chow (Republican)

24th: James F. Gennaro (Democrat), Jonathan D. Rinaldi (Republican)

25th: Shekar Krishnan (Democrat), Zhile Cao (Republican), Fatima Baryab (Diversity)

26th: Julie Won (Democrat), Marvin R. Jeffcoat (Republican)

27th: Nantasha Williams (Democrat), Marilyn M. Miller (Republican)

28th: Adrienne E. Adams (Democrat), Rusat Ramgopal (Republican)

29th: Lynn C. Schulman (Democrat), Danniel S. Maio (Republican), Sukhi Singh (Common Sense)

30th: Robert F. Holden (Democrat and Republican)

31st: Selvena N. Brooks-Powers (Democrat), Daniella M. May (Republican)

32nd: Joann Ariola (Republican)

34th: Jennifer Gutierrez (Democrat), Marguerite Chandler (Working Families and Medical Freedom)

Civil Court Judges:

First Municipal Court District: Michael H. Goldman (Democrat)

Second Municipal Court District: Sandra M. Munoz (Democrat)

Fourth Municipal Court District: Delsia G. Marshall (Democrat)

Sixth Municipal Court District: Evelyn Gong (Democrat), William David Shanahan (Republican)

Citywide proposals

Proposal Number 1, an Amendment: Removal of Small City School Districts From Special Constitutional Debt Limitation – Citywide

Removes the special constitutional debt limitation now placed on small city school districts, allowing them to then be treated the same as all other school districts. Small city school districts would then not be limited in spending used to maintain and improve school facilities and address the needs of its students.

Shall the proposed amendment be approved?

Proposal Number 2, an Amendment: Extending Sewage Project Debt Exclusion From Debt Limit – Citywide

Extends for ten years the authority of counties, cities, towns and villages to remove debt for the construction of sewer facilities from their constitutional debt limits. Spending on the treatment and disposal of sewage would not be included in the amount of debt allowed throughout the state for ten more years.

Shall the proposed amendment be approved?
Find your Election Day polling site here: vote.nyc/page/find-your-poll-site.