Presidential Proclamation Banned Passengers-Update March 14


What to know about new travel ban from Europe.

Presidential Proclamation prohibits Schengen area resident passengers from entering the U.S.

New process for international Europe passengers began midnight March 13.

Exemptions include U.S. Citizens and U. S. permanent residents.

All are instructed to self-quarantine for 14 days.

President Trump issued a Presidential Proclamation on March 11 prohibiting passengers originating European Schengen area from flying to the U.S. This does not include flights leaving from the U.S., only to the direct flights from the Schengen designated area including Great Britain and Ireland.

New procedures are in force to screen passengers before the international flight to the U.S. using travel history and passport data.

Ticketed passengers will either be allowed to board, be rerouted or turned away based on eligibility requirements.

There are passenger exceptions including American citizens, permanent residents, diplomats, and others described in the Proclamation who will be allowed to fly to the 13 U.S. airports on direct flights.

A quick overview of the process follows with federal agencies of the Center of Disease Control (CDC) the Customs Border Protection CBP), Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Countering Weapons of Mass Destruction Office (CWMD):

-International checking-in passengers will screened using passport data. The airline will be informed of any restrictions before the passenger boards the flight to the U.S.

-After vetting, passengers will be allowed to fly, be rerouted or denied boarding.

-All passengers will be given a medical affidavit by their airline for the passenger to fill out prior to their arrival to the U.S.

-Those flying and reaching one of the 13 U.S. airport designated to handle these flights, will be screened upon landing.

-CWMD and CDC will meet these direct flights, board the aircraft, and distribute a travelers health Information packet and collect data.

-Travelers will be read a announcement instructing the passengers to self-quarantine and remain home for at least 14 days.

-All deplaning passengers will be observed and monitored by the agencies.

-Any passengers showing symptoms will be selected for additional screening and temperature checks.

-Once deplaned, after screening, passengers will proceed to the Federal Inspection Area for completion of Customs processing.

In addition:

Any passengers who have boarded in error or who would be inadmissible due to the restrictions of the Proclamation will be

processed by the National Targeting Center (NTC) at the destination airport.

JFK has created a Coronavirus Command Center ( CCC) to serve as a main source of information for all COVID19 inquiries

in the Terminal 4 arrivals area.

The thirteen designated airports for processing these arrivals are: Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta (ATL), Dallas/Ft. Worth (DFW) , Detroit Metropolitan (DTW) , Newark International (EWR) , Daniel K. Inouye (HNL) , Washington Dulles (IAD), JFK, LAX, Chicago (ORD), Seattle Tacoma SEA), San Francisco International (SFO), Boston-Logan (BOS), Miami International (MIA).

More from Around New York