What Queens voters need to know ahead of the Aug. 23 primary election

August Primary
Stephanie Chauncey, a Queensbridge resident and coordinator at the PS 78 voting site during the June primaries. (Photo by Julia Moro)

Early voting kicks off next week for the Aug. 23 primary in which Queens voters can cast their ballots for races including the U.S. House of Representatives and state Senate. 

This year, the New York primaries were split into two parts: one in June and one in August. 

Early voting for the August primaries takes place from Aug. 13 to Aug. 21. Election Day is Tuesday Aug. 23, with polls open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Early Voting

Below, see the schedule for Early Voting polling sites:

Saturday, Aug. 13: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 14: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

Monday, Aug. 15: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

Tuesday, Aug. 16: 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 17: 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Thursday, Aug. 18: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Friday, Aug 19: 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. 

Satuday, Aug. 20: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

Sunday, Aug. 21: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

To find your Early Voting or Election Day polling site, type in your address at findmypollsite.vote.nyc.

Absentee Ballots

Due to a recent change in absentee ballot law, New Yorkers are no longer permitted to cast a ballot on a voting machine if they have requested to vote by absentee ballot. 

Voters who have requested to vote by absentee ballot can still cast a vote in person using an affidavit ballot. 

To apply for an absentee ballot, visit vote.nyc/absentee-voting.

Who’s on the ballot

Democratic Party

3rd Congressional District: Jon Kaiman, Robert P. Zimmerman, Joshua Alexander Lafazan, Reema Rasool, Melanie D’Arrigo

5th Congressional District: Rep. Gregory Meeks is running unopposed in the primary and will head straight to the General Election to face off against Republican Paul King.

6th Congressional District: Rep. Grace Meng is unopposed in the Democratic Primary and will be facing off against Thomas Zmich in the General Election

7th Congressional District: Nydia M. Velazquez, Paperboy Love Prince

12th Congressional District: Carolyn B. Maloney, Ashmi Sheth, Jerrold L. Nadler, Suraj Patel

14th Congressional District: Rep. Alexandria Ocasio Cortez will not have a primary challenger but will face either Tina Forte or Desi Jospeh Cuellar, which will be decided after the Republican Primary.

11th Senatorial District: Toby Ann Stavisky will not have a primary challenger and will run against Republican Stefano Forte in the General

15th Senatorial District: Joseph P. Addabbo Jr., Albert Baldeo, Japneet Singh

16th Senatorial District: John Liu will not have a primary challenger and will face Ruben Cruz II in the General

59th Senatorial District: Francoise Olivas, Kristen S. Gonzalez, Elizabeth S. Crowley, Nomiki Konst, Michael D. Corbett

Republican Party

14th Congressional District: Tina Forte, Desi Joseph Cuellar

There are no Republican primaries in the remaining districts as only one candidate is in each race.

Primary winners fill face off in the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 8, with polls open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. The early voting period for the general election beings Oct. 29 and runs through Nov. 6. 

More from Around New York